Various lists of the Wonders of the World have been compiled from antiquity to the present day, to catalogue the world’s most spectacular natural wonders and man-made structures.

The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World is the first known list of the most remarkable creations of classical antiquity; it was based on guidebooks popular among Hellenic sightseers and only includes works located around the Mediterranean rim.  The number seven was chosen because the Greeks believed it represented perfection and plenty, and because it was the number of the five planets known anciently, plus the sun and moon.

The Original Seven Wonders of the World:

  • The Colossus of Rhodes
  • The Great Pyramid of Giza
  • The Hanging Gardens of Babylon
  • The Lighthouse of Alexandria
  • The Mausoleum at Halicarnassus
  • The Statue of Zeus at Olympia
  • The Temple of Artemis at Ephesus

The only one that still exists is the Great Pyramid of Giza outside of Cairo.

Lists from other eras:

In the 19th and early 20th centuries, some writers wrote their own lists with names such as Seven Wonders of the Middle Ages, Seven Wonders of the Medieval Mind, and Architectural Wonders of the Middle Ages.

Typically represented were:

  • Stonehenge, England
  • Coliseum, Rome
  • Catacombs of Kom el Shoqafa, Alexandria, Egypt
  • Great Wall of China
  • Porcelain Tower of Nanjing, China
  • Hagia Sophia, Istanbul
  • Leaning Tower of Pisa, Italy

Other sites sometimes included on such lists:

  • Taj Mahal, Agra, India
  • Cairo Citadel
  • Ely Cathedral, Cambridgesire, England
  • Cluny Abbey, France

The Seven Wonders of the Modern World

  • Chunnel Tunnel, England/Europe
  • CN Tower, Toronto
  • Empire State Building
  • Golden Gate Bridge
  • Itaipu Dam, Brazil/Paraguay
  • Netherlands Sea Protection
  • Panama Canal

Natural Wonders of the World

Compiled by CNN:

  • Grand Canyon
  • The Great Barrier Reef, Australia
  • The Harbor at Rio de Janeiro
  • Everest
  • Northern Lights
  • Paricutin Volcano, SE Mexico
  • Victoria Falls, Africa

The New Seven Wonders of the World

Selected by 100 million voters:

  • Taj Mahal, India
  • Petra, Jordan
  • Christ Redeemer, Rio, Brazil
  • Coliseum, Rome
  • Great Wall of China
  • Machu Picchu, Peru

The Seven Wonders of My World

  • Iguzu Falls, Brazil/Argentina
  • Antartica
  • Machu Picchu, Peru
  • Panama Canal
  • Pyramids of Giza, Cairo
  • Abu Simbel on the Nile, Egypt
  • The migration of animals between Kenya/Tanzania

The Seven Wonders of Our Modern World

  • The Automobile
  • The Flush Toilet
  • The Radio
  • The Airplane
  • The Television
  • The Side View Mirror
  • The Internet

Plus the fax, the computer and the mobile phone.

And The Seven Wonders of My Personal World


  • Made it to age 85
  • Overcame a severe low vision problem
  • Been married three times
  • Helped five people become millionaires, and only two were ex-wives
  • Been able to travel to over 40 U.S. states, 80 countries and all seven continents
  • Helped raise two children who have a strong work ethic and good basic values
  • Have a solid, nurturing and fulfilling relationship for over 20 years.


1 Comment

Filed under Blog


  1. Paul

    Interesting how many Sally and I have seen. The best ones are your personal ones.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s